1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Wheel bearing hub and knuckle replacement questions.

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by AshwinBR, Oct 9, 2024.

1. AshwinBR

AshwinBR New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hi everyone,

I'm in the process of replacing the wheel bearing and hub assembly on my Gen 2 Prius on the driver's side. I'm stuck trying to figure out a few questions.

I'm not an experienced mechanic but a DIYer and student of PriusChat and YouTube :) . Please pardon the stupid questions.

Instead of re-using the same knuckle, I ended up ordering a new Dorman branded one.
    The wheel hub/bearing assembly is TRQ branded. Are these ok brands? Or are they known to fail frequently?

More importantly, I've found a very slight play between the mating surface of the knuckle and the hub.
    In terms of stability I know the four bolts for the hub is what holds the two together, but I thought it's necessary for the hub and the knuckle to be flush against each other for proper stability and longevity.

1. The play is less than a fraction of an mm. While I can't see the play, I can feel it when I try to move the hub.
    Is it ok to use it this way or should I get the knuckle replaced?

2. How do I prevent water/salts from getting between the steel hub and the alumin(i)um knuckle?
    The old knuckle was a bit chewed up from the east coast salt and want to make sure that doesn't happen again. Will a generous schmear of red-n-tacky grease or anti-sieze prevent water from getting in between the knuckle and the hub?

3. From some of the older videos, the hub is supposed to be magnetized for the speed sensor to work.
    In the hub I have it doesn't seem to be magnetized at all. Tried to stick a paper clip, but doesn't stick. Is this a problem?

Thank you so much for your replies and advice!
    Ash B.

2. Tombukt2

Tombukt2 Senior Member