1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Vending Machine Timers?

Discussion in 'Environmental Discussion' started by Doug, Feb 8, 2009.

1. Doug

Doug Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I work in a school district that has many many soda vending machines that stay on 24/7. I have heard that there are timers that can turn the machines off for a set number of hours but have been unable to find this product. It could potentially save a ton of money and energy. If anyone knows about this product, please direct me.

2. TonyPSchaefer

TonyPSchaefer Your Friendly Moderator
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I was talking about this with members of our company's "Green Team" a while back. I remember the discussion being that you can't just turn soda machines off because of the need for cooling. Non-cooled machines, on the other hand, could be controlled through the use of a timer with an override feature for school functions. But in that case, each machine would need to be turned on individually and then shut off individually when the event is over. Unless the timer's programming allows it to go back into "auto" mode.

If you're school has a building control system - which I suspect it does - you might want to look into tapping into that. My reasoning is that when there's a function, the HVAC needs to be put into, let's call it "exception" mode. For example, Saturdays are usually pretty quite except when there's an event; that's an exception. This will kick on the Air Handling Units and control the building appropriately. If done correctly, the same controls that say "hey there's someone in the building I should turn on the air" could also turn on the vending machines. Of course, it also works the other way: "there's no one in the building, spin down the HVAC system and turn off the non-cooled vending machines."