1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Is superinsulating a problem?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by dbj, Aug 16, 2007.

1. dbj

dbj New Member

Hello,

I'm a newbie, and apologize if this has already been discussed -- could not find it by searching with Google in the PriusChat site.

Two questions:

1. Will placing a bunch of soft foam rubber mats and blankets in the cargo compartment cause any sort of superinsulating effect for the battery pack, and if so, is it likely to hurt the battery pack?

I have a retired racing greyhound who is very bony -- I have cut a nice "eggcrate' foam rubber mat that covers the entire back area of the car (I keep the back seats folded down, to give her lots of room). I've placed a waterproof pad under this, topped the eggcrate with a sheet, and put a favorite soft blanket and some pillows on top of all that. It occured to me that I might be causing a problem to superinsulate the battery pack compartment this way. (By the way, I've been careful not to cover up the intake vent for the battery pack.)

2. Will some sort of filtration over the battery pack intake vent cause any problems with overheating the batteries? I'm envisioning something like either a thin sheet of the fibrous pads like those used in home heating systems, or if that sounds too occlusive, maybe even a layer (or two?) of thin knitted material such as pantyhose are made of. My goal is to keep my dog's hair and any dust on her fur from entering the vent, as much as I can.

Thanks.

little greenie

2. brick

brick Active Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    The battery has its own active cooling system (a fan that draws cabin air) so as long as you don't mess with the actual battery compartment or the flow path it shouldn't be a problem at all. You should be able to do whatever you want to the cargo area. It was designed for cargo, after all. ;)